MJ

So everyone knows, Michael Jackson died.
Yes, total understatement of the obvious.

The first thing someone said to me when I stepped into school was, "Did you know Michael Jackson died?"
And I didn't.

Which was weird, cause I got up so early in the morning, that I heard about the actual time he got into hospital. So on the radio at 6am in the morning was,
"Michael Jackson has been rushed into the hospital with a heart attack"
And I thought, oh. I'm sure he'll be ok.

Because I thought people mainly survived heart attacks, and the radio said nothing about critical conditions, or teetering on the brink of dying. None of that. So I kind of dismissed it.

I think he died at 7.30am or something in Australian time. It's just weird to think that I was in orchestra, the whole room blissfully unaware of the news and continuing to play music.

What I've noticed is that after his death, it's kinda not ok to criticise him anymore.
Don't get me wrong, I think he was a great guy. But he never really caught my attention on the news, no matter what the crazy things he did because
1. He was before my time
2. His music was amazing and influences so many artists that I admire today

So I didn't really know exactly how big he had gotten in terms of fame, and how legendary he was at the time. Also, I don't tend to pay attention to the crazy things celebrities do.

On a side note, what did he do anyways? Besides skin colour changing and getting heaps of plastic surgery. I admit, that was a bit weird. He was way better looking with his original face...
So he
1. Got accused of child molesting
2. Dangled his kid outside a window
3. Made his kids wear scarves and masks and things.

So what do I say about 1.? I think its bullshit. It wasn't the kid crying to daddy, it was the daddy crying to the federal courts. And since that fucking daddy got a $22mil payout, I'm guessing that's all there was to it. As everyone has been lately noticing, Michael Jackson seems like a really lonely guy. And if he feels like he can make friends with little kids, well he can go do whatever he wants.

#2, he didn't drop his kid did he? Not like he was diagnosed with MS or something and was in danger of dropping his kid. Nevertheless, it was pretty dangerous stuff and I don't think I would do it cause I've dropped things before, but honestly. Who cares.

#3. Well I'm sure its a shame the paparazzi didn't get to see his kids' faces, and I'm sure they had very nice faces, but again, who gives a crap.

So you look at before and after.
Before
The media synonymously associated the name Michael Jackson with weirdo. All the media would say about Michael Jackson was list the "crimes" that he had done and criticise him continuously. His name was accompanied with something along the lines of "problematic and troubled" etc.

After
The media loves him now. Like I've said, it's not that great to criticse him now he's dead isn't it? The media focuses now on his wonderful career and his life, and spends probably 1% of the airing "special" talking about his "crimes". And then dismisses it as him being troubled, and as a result of constantly being under the spotlight.
Yeah, YOUR spotlight.

Anyways, we live our lives to the best with what we've got. And I believe that's what Michael Jackson did.

R.I.P

2009-06-28
10:59 a.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host