is it loneliness

Friday night, I went and watched The Ugly Truth by myself.
I've never watched a movie by myself,
so I guess it was a new experience for me.
A couple things surprised me,
Firstly, I thought it would be excruciatingly embarrassing and I would feel completely out of place, at least until the movie started.
Which wasn't so. Actually, there were a lot of people alone. Which is surprising since I was watching a romcom.

Secondly, I thought I'd be getting weird glances from people.
Which didn't happen either.
Even the guy I bought my ticket off. It just came out of my mouth, "Yeah I'm watching this movie by myself"
And I was thinking, Omg why did I say that? Will he think I'm some sad person watching a romcom by herself?
But he seemed completely at ease and said back, You'll love it I promise.

Thirdly, I didn't think I would like the romcom (I usually don't)but like the ticket selling guy promised, I did. I don't think there was a superbly deep meaning running through the movie, but I really enjoyed it for some reason.

And the most surprising thing was,
I didn't feel lonely at all, even though I was completely alone. It was great watching a movie by myself, going to get popcorn by myself, walking back and thinking about the movie by myself.

What I've realised is that loneliness isn't always necessarily the product of being alone. I'm completely comfortable with being by myself.
I think people are so desperate to be popular, to have many friends, because they are afraid of not being alone, but of being lonely. If only people tried going to a restaurant by themselves, going to a movie, etc.; maybe they will realise that it's perfectly okay to be alone.

Really, it felt so good =)

Or maybe I'm just a weirdo and I'm the only one who feels good alone.
I think I prefer being alone to being with other people actually.

2009-09-19
10:06 a.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host