eminem

Rnb, Hiphop, Rap.
Yet I see the beauty in classical.
It's a contradiction within itself, that I can like both at once.

I can't explain why.
I like classical for its immense beauty and emotion. I like excitement, I like joy, I like the terror it inspires. I like the wonder that comes with these gods of music. Classical is the channel through which I can feel.

I like urban because... sometimes, I'm over trying to feel. I'm tired of thinking all the time. So urban is the best way out to relieve my brain. I get lyrics and meanings yelled straight at me. It's simple; no words that have to be twisted into meaning or phrases that befuddle with the same presence as vapour.
RnB is basically about love. It's gentle, soft and the music is just agreeable to listen to.
I like Hiphop because it's hard edged. It's like a toughening conditioner to my heart and coats me in a layer of hardness.
I like rap because of the beat, because of the ingenuity of the rhymes and because rap artists have so much to say and I like to listen.

And then once in a while, I'll hear something that's not entirely superficial, entirely materialistic and it's meaningful. After listening to so many lines of nothing, I hear one line that makes me think. It makes me ponder over it, and I'm amazed at how smart the person who came up with it was.

I like Eminem. He's my favourite rapper. His new songs... well, I haven't liked them. I like one;

Eminem - Beautiful

(he's talking about walking a mile in someone else's shoes)
And to the rest of the world
God gave you shoes to fit you
So put 'em on and wear 'em
Be yourself man, be proud of who you are
Even if it sounds corny
Don't ever let anyone tell you you ain't beautiful.

You know those days where you think you must be the ugliest person alive? Those days when you don't want to show your face to the world and you want to hide for the rest of the day? Those days where you feel like a no one, and you'll never get anywhere?
Of course we all have them.
But Eminem is what brings me out of it.

Everyone is beautiful.

2010-01-07
2:47 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host