purpose in life

By accident, I stumbled on Googling "purpose in life". Quite an interesting phrase, no? And interesting to see what the rest of the world's opinion would be.

Well, as usual, Wikipedia showed up.
I love Wikipedia, just for the sheer amount of material floating around. The Wiki entry has scientific, philosophical, theological, religious views towards the topic. Wow. If I ever have a couple of HOURS to spare, I'll go and read it all :D

Anyhow, there were quite a lot of sites claiming to preach the purpose of life, self help sites for lost individuals, etc. Out of curiosity, I clicked on a site that said "How To Discover Your Purpose in Life in 20 Minutes".

Not a bad way to waste 20 minutes hey?

Well, it was basically this;
At the top of a page, write "PURPOSE IN LIFE"
Then list everything. Anything you can think of.
You'll have reasons society has believed in, you'll list things your family and friends tell you to put down. But eventually, you'll come to your own understanding of the purpose in life.
How will you know?
Apparently, once you acknowledge it, it will mean so much to you that you will cry.

In case you're interested:
http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2005/01/how-to-discover-your-life-purpose-in-about-20-minutes/

The guy who wrote the page, his purpose in life was this:
to live consciously and courageously, to resonate with love and compassion, to awaken the great spirits within others, and to leave this world in peace.

Doesn't sound too bad hey?
I can imagine people crying as they write this for themselves.
I can imagine people motivated, purposeful, emancipated.
I can imagine people happier.

But when I read it, I felt absolutely nothing.
And I have a feeling that, even if I list a thousand reasons to live, none of them will make me cry, or even want to cry.
The Purpose in Life exercise is wasted on people like me.

2010-03-23
10:17 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host