epiphany on grief

Hurray, music composition: done
It wasn't that bad actually.
Ok, it was.
The chords and the trying to get everything to fit together was horrible.
But the artistic freedom and imagination bit wasn't too bad. (:

I just finished reading The Time Traveller's Wife. Wow, what an amazing book! I love stories that are ... different. The ones that stand out. Ones with odd formats, or novel-poems, know what I mean? So I thought this time travelling business was very clever, and all the little in-jokes she concocted as a result was admirable.

I loved the beginning. It was clever, spirited, beautifully constructed. I guess I was into the fun novelty side of time travelling and love. The middle of the book got serious, it was about Clare and her being left alone all the time whilst Henry just disappeared. It was about pregnancy, adulthood, death; all the things I don't relate to.

I won't spoil the ending, but it was heartbreaking. Clare and Henry had such a unique relationship, I think I can safely say there isn't another couple like them in the world, fiction or non-fiction (correct me if I'm wrong ;D). The ending half of the book was devastating in its misery. But in a good way I guess.
I think I can understand why people are so sad when they lose loved ones now. For a moment, I caught a strand of that overwhelming grief whilst reading the book.
It used to puzzle me so much before.
But I think I understand grief now. I won't ever feel it, but at least I can try to understand it, right?

At the moment, I'm dreaming, lost in the world of Henry and Clare.

2010-03-28
8:54 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host