city lights

I was sitting under the shelter at Allawah station, waiting with my mind blank for the train t come. With a gradual flicker of motion in my peripheral, the fluorescent lights turned on. They didn't just suddenly pop on, but rather, it started with the one furthest away, slowly blinking, increasing in tempo until it flickered on. Then, like an involuntary chain reaction, that momentum of tempo sped across the rest of that row of lights until suddenly, they were all radiating glowing light, bathing me and all around me in safety.

It's so hard to explain what happened; to paint mind pictures with words. I'm sure everyone has seen it happen before, it's quite a commonplace event. At that exact moment, I wish I had caught it on tape.

I don't know exactly what about those light bulbs that caught my attention. Maybe because it's never happened when I've been standing under it. It's never happened when I hadn't expected it; I was vacantly dozing and suddenly this display was put on to surprise me.
It just filled me with... I don't know what, some emotion I can't put my finger on.
It was a spontaneous combustion of part elation, part joy, part wonder, part hope.

In New York,
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of,
There's nothing you can't do
Now you're in New York,
These streets will make you feel brand new,
Big lights will inspire you
Let's hear it for New York... New York...

-Empire State of Mind, Jay Z and Alicia Keys

2010-04-26
10:07 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host