france macdonald's ad

I don't know if everyone has seen it yet but I just got around to watching the gay Maccas ad for France.

Lately there's been all these different opinions and perspectives in the mX newspaper in response to a woman's opinion piece that gay men should be encouraged to "come out" as they are.

There are so many stances to take on this topic, but I only realised when I read some replies that discrimination against homosexuality was still a big issue.

I don't know why that surprised me... but the modality of the language used was so incredibly harsh and rude, it was quite frightening.
When the topic rose in prominence in awareness, I just... pretty much accepted it. It was a little weird at first, but then I just got used to the idea of same sex relationships, and marriage and everything else.

And I thought everyone else had accepted it too.
So I guess I was just surprised with the hostile rejections voiced by many (dare I say, ignorant) members of the community.

Even though the Macdonald's ad was just that, an ad, designed to make money for its company, it can be seen as something more.
I was just thinking now nice it was for Macdonald's to make it... socially acceptable, in a way, and to be the first to breach this taboo topic in society.

Only when we acknowledge it, can we learn to understand.

2010-06-05
3:27 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host