the human condition

I've been "best friends" with Leo for about... a half a year. I've been counsellor, adviser, someone to cry to... for a year, maybe longer. And we've been friends for more than three years now.

And only last night did we ask those cliche, generic questions like, "What's your favourite colour?"

I've known him for so long and so well that I know everything that goes on in his brain. But we realised "Holy shit, we know nothing about each other on the surface level."

I didn't know he liked watermelon, oranges, bananas, nectarines; in that order. I didn't know he orgasms over chicken caesar salad and steak. I thought he liked whiskey, but he likes tequila LOL. Um. His favourite colour is blue.
Something something...

But isn't that bizarre?
When can you say you really know someone well?
In general, I think we're suffering from anti-knowing-ship. (Oh god >>")

I would say generally, good friends know each other well on a superficial level, and are too afraid to dip their toes into the deep murky waters for fear of ... oh I don't know, being bitten by sharks or something.
Horrible analogy aside, you would be able to criticise on the grounds that they don't know anything really about each other.

Then what about this case?
Do I know the human entity that encompasses the proper noun "Leo"?

And one more thing that comes into mind, how do you know when you know yourself?
There is an incomprehensible degree to which human perception is limited.


Leo: I don't know what your favourite colour is, but I know what you're like.
Amanda: What am I like?
Leo: You're calculating and logical. You think like a robot.

Oh.

2010-06-27
10:38 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host