ignorance is not bliss

There are two things in the world I cannot stand. The first is ignorance, and the second is a crying baby. Or many crying babies.

The latter can be avoided by dissociating myself with any woman who shows any signs of giving birth anytime soon, but the former is another tale. I've found that ignorance is difficult to avoid, almost impossible, due to the unfortunate fact that ignorance is ubiquitous.

I don't mind arrogance.
I don't mind bitchiness.
I can even disregard stupidity.
But what makes me simmer with raging contempt, draws my mouth together into a violent pressed line, flex my fingers and feel them curl around throats; is ignorance.

I can't stand it

Listening to drivel, listening to a narrow minded person who was gifted by evolution to have the intelligence to understand the world around them, but chooses not to, leaves me with this nagging itch like flies buzzing around a dead carcass.

These people don't deserve to be human. We have been lucky enough to be born with intelligence and perception, rather than being born a cockroach or a goldfish. If you were a goldfish, fine, I will forgive you for your ignorance because your world is only a fishbowl. But humans live in a WORLD, that for some reason, so many choose to be oblivious to.

"Ew, war. Why do we have to learn about WWI? I don't care. It's so depressing and gross."

"Who's Judas? What? How should I know? I'm not religious"

"Sorry, but why are we talking about Obama and Gillard? Who are they?"

"Who's Poseidon? -giggle, did you name his penis Poseidon?"

I struggle, really hard, for self control. To not snap, to laugh it off, to forget and not dwell on it.

But at the end of the day, it's not anger or contempt or disdain I feel. I feel sad and heavy, regretful of a people who don't care which way the lonely world spins.

2010-07-05
9:44 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host