the austrian that got away

We're going instrument hunting, looking for someone to replace my baby.

I was nonchalant about it initially, but I realise I'm not quite prepared to give Al up. He just feels like he's mine, y'know?

I'm not prepared to give up the over-thick slab of wood it is, to miss its beauty in shading that was just right. It feels like as they say, cutting off your right arm, like I'll be saying goodbye to a piece of me. It had been so integrated into me that I would never notice it, but now that it threatens to leave, I'm aware of the gap that would be missing.

I've only seen one violin so far that I could even contemplate of replacing him with. It was this gorgeous little Austrian violin, kind of wise in its 150 years of knowledge, and it produced the most amazing full bodied G open string punctuated with lurking mysterious darkness.
It's a shame it's out of our price range.

2010-07-06
8:30 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host