like eating tofu

When I was eating dinner tonight, it occurred to me that life is a lot like eating tofu.

When you eat it between chopsticks, you have to hold it firmly, or it will slip back onto your plate. Yet it has to be squeezed gently, or else it will disintegrate into broken shards of soft white.

Life must be grasped firmly, (carpe diem, if you will) or else you will lose direction, purpose, meaning in life. Yet it has to be taken with a certain freedom, or else the human spirit will not thrive, and there will be no happiness.
Striking the right balance is the key to living, I think. It's the key to leading a productive, yet stress-free life.
But I try and try and try; yet I overwork myself into apathy or let myself fall into listless melancholy.
I long to find the key that fits the lock, and to open a world where for me, anything is possible.

Life is a lot like eating tofu.

2010-10-18
10:08 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host