to bleach

For a moment, I thought Bleach had ended. (For those who don't know, it's a Japanese manga)
I hadn't been following it for a while since it had been licensed, but my heart stopped when I found out the big climax had been written out and published, and the repercussions even, had been planned out.

Bleach was something that seemed to be timeless; it had been there since year 7 and it never entered into my mind that it might run out now.
Why now?
I want to ask Tite Kubo, and shake him up, and ask him why he is letting Bleach abandon me in the most critical year of high school.

It seems... so surreal. I always thought of the manga as growing and developing, along with myself. It seems so disconnected and... abstract, that I will continue with my life, grow up, get a job and be in all respects, a fully functioning member of society, whilst these characters are forever immortalised in their crystal cold world, static and unchanging.

I'm not sure even, why I was so shaken and until now, I didn't even know why I value Bleach so much.
I think Bleach has been so popular because it was not just a fantasy story for kids, it is ingrained with repeated messages and stories of determination, strength, sacrifice, love, bravery; those that the ordinary non-hero can still aspire to. Whilst engaged in it, I subconsciously absorbed its motivations and spirit, which carried me onto the next week it came out.
It was a reminder, weekly, where every other reminder had failed, to continue to struggle and to not give up.

Thank god that although the main battle, the big climax, is over, the story still continues. It's nice to see our grouchy hero doing well, it's nice to see him scowl, it's nice that at least something retains a shred of constancy in my world.

2010-10-31
7:38 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host