get acquainted

I am now... acutely aware of the large role that music, particularly classical, has played in my life.
The great composers, rapidly declining in influence and acknowledgment in modern consciousness, touch my life and leave its mark with all the authority of an invisible giant molding their fingerprint into soft clay.

Some pieces are famous, some are breath taking and exhilarating, some are over played, and still yet others truly manage to master time, to create a moment in suspended animation that captures me and enthralls the universe.

Pieces that I hope to never forget or leave behind:
(go have a listen if you don't believe me :D)

Saint Saens - The Swan
Look for the version by Yo Yo Ma, the modern Roman conqueror of the cello.
The phrase, "where words fail, music speaks" comes to mind. There is nothing I can use to describe the piece; nothing is adequate. There is no word beautiful enough, no word expressive enough, no word that can encapsulate an entire four minutes of suspension in wonderland.
It's bizarre; I couldn't stop smiling - at the sheer beauty and joy that was welling in me, yet it made me cry because it all seemed so despairing and heart breaking. Either I was so happy I cried, or so sad that I was smiling.

Tchaikovsky's 6th
I think I've ranted enough about this one. And surprisingly... I haven't posted it. (will do so in the next entry)

Tired, but ANYTHING, absolutely anything by Perlman is good.
If you don't know him, please get acquainted. (:

2010-11-24
9:49 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host