what menuhin said

Music creates order out of chaos: for rhythm imposes unanimity upon the divergent, melody imposes continuity upon the disjointed, and harmony imposes compatibility upon the incongruous

A great violin is alive; its very shape embodies its maker's intentions, and its wood stores the history, or the soul, of its successive owners. I never play without feeling that I have released or, alas, violated spirits.

What you hear in yourself harmonizes with the perceptions that conform outside.

The violinist is that peculiarly human phenomenon distilled to a rare potency--half tiger, half poet. (rawr :D)

The greatest feeling would be if I could hear Bach Chaconne for the first time again.

The violinist must possess the poet's gift of piercing the protective hide which grows on propagandists, stockbrokers and slave traders, to penetrate the deeper truth which lies within.
And maybe that's the reason I continue with violin, despite the frustrations and disappointments and despite the fact I know the feelings of inadequacy will only get worse the more I play.
Because it's the one thing that reaffirms that there is something more, that everything means something, that I am capable of more. Music is what nourishes my soul; without it, I would surely wither like the scraggly shrub left out in the cold of the Sahara Desert.

Music is enough for a lifetime, but a lifetime is not enough for music.
- Rachmaninov

2010-12-04
11:19 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host