twinkle twinkle little star

When I was small, I thought that after people died, they turned into stars and lived in the sky. Then they lived forever and watched over the people they love, and that's why there were so many stars in the sky. And everytime they twinkled, they were saying hi and that they hoped I hadn't forgot about them.

I am now the wiser and have now been informed that stars are formed by accretions of collapsed clouds of gas and dust due to the effects of higher gravitational attraction in dense matter. And that stars are bright because they fuse huge amounts of hydrogen into helium in their core and radiate it as light and heat. And that stars don't actually twinkle - it's just the effect of refraction in Earth's distorted atmosphere due to clouds, differing temperatures, densities, pressures and what not.

I think I preferred my version better.

Sometimes, mankind's obsession with explaining everything in the universe destroys little childrens' dreams.

2010-12-07
9:09 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host