respect

Why must it take tragedy to inspire wisdom? Why is suffering and pain the only path to salvation?

Why is it human nature to be stupid when we are happy, whole and well?

http://peaceshadow.net/hiroshima/?lang=english
Look up Iwao Nakanishi.
It is difficult to define the meaning of respect. It should not, and cannot be demanded. It is gained independent of position, gender or age, through action, character, integrity.

This is a man I respect. Not because he is older than me, or because he is my father, mother, aunt, uncle, grandfather, grandmother. Not because he is the CEO of a company, or an important person. Not because he is rich, influential or powerful.

But because he is who he is.


Toshiko Tanaka:

What did you think about while creating your Peace Shadow?
I thought about my young aunt in her 20s on the morning of the bomb. She left saying �See you later.� And she never came back. 65 years have passed and she has not come back. We don�t know what happened to her. There is a nuclear shadow on the steps of the Sumitomo Bank, I believe this project was influenced by this shadow. That is my aunt. In my mind, my aunt is that shadow and vice versa. Nothing is left of her, just the fact that she has disappeared.

2011-05-18
11:37 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host