bruch and suk

Yesterday, my maths teacher comes up to me. He's a big, tall, serious, Eastern-European man and I think I'm in trouble. Instead, he hands me a newspaper clipping from the Prague Post.

The title is "Violin Virtuoso Suk dies at age 81"

Is it stupid to be sad? I'm thinking I must have looked a little bit stupid (the very least).
I would say no more stupid than to cry over an exam or a boy.

No I didn't know him personally.
But it's a matter of legacy, of what he was, what he did. I realised, the "old generation" is dying - an age of beautiful sound and strength, not an age of technical showmanship.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RRER2mtNrQ&feature=channel_video_title

This is my favourite rendition of Bruch by him. It is so noble, so dignified in its sadness - it is rare to find dignity and nobility in modernity.

I am afraid.
I am terrified of death.
Not of its effects on my physical body, but because it takes people away who are precious to me.
One death, and the universe feels suddenly a lot emptier and bigger... until what? Until it is a stranger to me? Until I no longer have any earthly ties in my interests to it?

Death is fickle, death is cruel.
Albus Dumbledore said, "Do not pity the dead... pity the living, and above all, those who live without love."

2011-07-21
10:17 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host