adele - someone like you

For some, this may well be a year of achievement and triumph. But for me, it is a year full of broken things, and loss after loss.

The phone will never ring for me again.

We will never race each other again, with full bladders to the bathroom.

No more pizza from around the corner, your haunts are no longer mine, and yet you rob me of my own places.

There will be no more empty nights, full nights, no more stale cold bed sheets heated up with the electric blanket, no more stifled laughter and incoherent mumbling until eyelids droop.

You simultaneously taught me to be tough, tough enough to shatter all idealism yet still be alive, and a softie, so that I can still care and live.

But above all, I don't know what I'll do without my one last refuge of comfort that you provide and knowing that, just like how you hang up on me, the connection is dead.

I will never have anyone else quite like you.
That is the only thing I know for certain now.

2011-09-03
11:54 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host