day by day

Still taking it day by day.

It was a good day today. I'm graduating soon; we had our year 12 breakfast and muck up day. Lots of laughs, a whole hour of snoozing together under the sun and shade, being young and free and crazy dressed up as Winnie the Pooh characters in a serious city. Oh how they stared :)

There's an amazing thing we do at our school, where we write a letter from our 12 year old selves to our 17/18 year old selves. We opened them this morning. It was full of cringe worthy phrases, a certain feeling of overwhelming ADHD, awkwardness and blunt straightforwardness (because society hadn't taught us to lie then) and a very thoughtful $50 note I had enclosed to myself "in case I go broke" (much needed).

Although I wish I had taken it a bit more seriously, captured the snapshot of my junior life more thoroughly, really, nothing need more be said.

I thought my letter would be full of year 7 awkward phrasings and nostalgic euphoria, but really, it was like talking to myself. Amazing, and slightly disconcerting, how bloody mature I was then (I apologise for the overly pessimistic letters some of you may have received). I don't know, I get a lot of observations on how I've changed, but reading my letter, I haven't changed a bit. I agree with what I've written 100%, and sometimes, I still tell myself the same things.

If I were to change my message for my future self, I would just like to add, now I've become a little less serious, taken myself a little less seriously, been infinitely more chill and carefree, reckless and brash. Life is too short/long to take so seriously, so I hope I still remember what the word "fun" means.
Came across an awesome quote today,
You can't be old and wise, if you were never young and crazy.

Someday, I will be old and wise and know lots of things about the world, but not today. Today is about living big, living deeply and being youthful at heart.

There are no such things as endings.

2011-09-21
10:07 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host