is there a god?

Today, I found heaps of beautiful scenery type wallpapers on my school's communal hard drive. There are so many photos! I'd estimate about 200 maybe?

And when I'm looking at them, especially the nature photos, my breath is taken away. I could sit there and look at them forever, and never get tired. It held such beauty and wonder, it looked .. unreal. Like something so beautiful couldn't possibly exist on this planet. Something so fragile and it brought tears to your eyes in sheer happiness to look upon it.

I tend to get drawn to mountain, lake type scenery. The sheer vastness of the mountains, and the smoothness of the lake, just catches my breath when my eyes hits it. Also, the ones with heaths or grassland, and just a lone tree sitting there. The lonesome, solitary tree battling against nature by itself without being surrounded like a forest, just highly evokes emotion in me.

Do wonders really exist on the earth like this?

And looking at these pictures, I can't help but wonder, is there a god?

Surely, pure chance wouldn't have produced something so full of power and beauty. Something so carefully moulded that it would only be God, who loves us more than anything else in the world, would take the time to carry out for our sakes?
No, I don't believe in the old man God.

After reading The Color Purple, no, before, I've had a belief that God is energy. Or shall we say.. beauty? God is the toil that a blacksmith goes through to produce his finest goods. God is the painter who strives to get the perfect brush stroke. God is the power that is all around us, the energy, that has slowly shaped these beautiful monuments to nature to please us.
As Shug said, we aren't always just pleasing God. God is trying hard to please us back.
"I think it would piss God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don't notice it. People think pleasing God is all God care about. But any fool living in the world can see it always trying to please us back"

And I see the human man-made structures, homes, cities that somehow are yes, very impressive. But seem dull in comparison. It has a brutal human feel to it (the modern age ones anyways). It feels like we think we can create our own beauty, our own God through this building of the city. But the stark contrasts, the city and nature at its best, juxtaposed, shows exactly how much God wins in the end.

However, I think theres a certain homeliness to some of the photos. There was one picture, of Greek houses all lined up against the side of a mountain. Its almost ancient culture like this, that makes us think, where are we going in terms of the future of mankind?

2009-05-22
10:25 p.m.

new
old
profile
notes
� �design
host